Elections & Voting

Elections and Voting

On June 10th, 2023, polling places in each of the four communities were open from 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.  Final count of ballots began immediately following a supper break at the St. Croix Tribal Center.

Those elected to Tribal Council on June 10th, 2023, were incumbents Georgia Cobenais (Round Lake), Richard (Rick) Benjamin (Danbury), Thomas Fowler (Maple Plain), and Conrad St. John (Sand Lake), alongside newly elected Bernice Taylor (Sand Lake).

The 2023 Tribal Council Election was livestreamed on YouTube. On Youtube, search for “2023 St. Croix Tribal Council Election”. This livestream will remain on YouTube for replay for those who wish to watch after the election date.

Secretarial Election

On November 8th, 2023, Secretarial Election ballots will begin being counted at 2:01 p.m. Ballots must be returned by November 7th. Tribal Members wishing to return their ballot may do so physically to the Tribal Center on November 7th between 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Only those who registered for the Secretarial Election will receive a ballot to vote. The list of registered voters is posted in the St. Croix Tribal Center for public review.

The proposed amendments to the Constitution and By-Laws of the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin passed on November 8th, 2023, with 71 for and 40 against in an election where at least 30% of the 169 registered voters voted.